Best Bet
Digital Commons @ Wayne State
Books and Media
Digital Collections Search
Research Guides

Search Blog


Uncategorized (34)


November 2001 Minutes

University Library Committee Minutes
November 14, 2001

Present: H. Canon, A. Goodman, D. Magidson, R. Mattingly, J. Moseley,
C. Poole, L. Sutton, S. Yee

Dean Yee welcomed the new members of the Committee.

Minutes of the September 26, 2001 were approved.

Dean Yee reported on the discussions between the Provost and the Academic Senate
regarding plans in the state capital outlay document to renovate and combine
the Purdy-Kresge Library and the Science and Engineering Library. She reviewed
national library trends and local statistics that demonstrate a drop in gate
count for both the Purdy-Kresge Library and Science and Engineering Library
when the new Undergraduate Library opened. Committee members gave a range of
input with an emphasis on the importance of meeting faculty and student needs
in the electronic age.

Brian Hawkins has agreed to speak on scholarly communication issues at Wayne
State University on April 5, 2002. The Committee may have an opportunity to
meet with him separately, before or after his public lecture.

The lather letter that was drafted last term will be updated with information
about the Public Library of Science. Dean Yee will schedule a meeting with L.
Johnston from the Office of General Counsel to review options for an alternate
form for copyright release and then invite her to the January meeting of the

The Committee roster was circulated for updating purposes.

The next meeting will be held Wednesday, January 30, 2002 at 10:00 am in the
Deans Conference Room.

Minutes by: Lynn Sutton

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.